Through Waters Deep

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin is a 384 page book in the Christian Historical Fiction genre. It is the first book in the Waves of Freedom series. Through Waters Deep is published by Revell and was released on August 4, 2015.  To purchase your copy, click here.

unnamed (1)


It is 1941 and America teeters on the brink of war. Outgoing naval officer Ensign Jim Avery escorts British convoys across the North Atlantic in a brand-new destroyer, the USS Atwood. Back on shore, Boston Navy Yard secretary Mary Stirling does her work quietly and efficiently, happy to be out of the limelight. Yet, despite her reserved nature, she never could back down from a challenge. When evidence of sabotage on the Atwood is found, Jim and Mary must work together to uncover the culprit. A bewildering maze of suspects emerges, and Mary is dismayed to find that even someone close to her is under suspicion. With the increasing pressure, Jim and Mary find that many new challenges–and dangers–await them.

Sarah Sundin takes readers to the tense months before the US entered WWII. Readers will encounter German U-boats and torpedoes, along with the explosive power of true love, in this hopeful and romantic story.

My Two Cents

Through Waters Deep is the first book I have read from Susan Sundin and it was fabulous.  I was hooked from the beginning.  Sundin’s book had it all – mystery, suspense, romance, friendship, surprises and tension.  She has a way of writing that makes you want to grab your highlighter because the words move you and you do not want to forget them.

Sundin’s writing is wonderful but her historical research was superb.  She wove the history in where it was not overwhelming but supplemented the story well.  I felt as if I was right there inside the story. Plus, I learned somethings about World War II that I had not known before.

The main character, Mary, is very easy to like. She is quiet, efficient at her job, and very humble.  Jim is an admirable character.  I enjoyed seeing Mary and Jim’s friendship develop and how they supported each other in difficult times.  This book inspired me to listen more and be a better friend.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.  This is a story you do not want to miss!

Thank you to Litfuse Chicks for a free copy of this book in exchange for my review.  No monetary compensation was received and all opinions expressed are my own.

About the Author

Sarah Sundin is the author of With Every Letter, On Distant Shores, In Perfect Time, and the Wings of Glory series. In 2014, On Distant Shores was a finalist for the Golden Scroll Awards from both AWSA and the Christian Authors Network. In 2011, Sarah received the Writer of the Year Award at the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference. A graduate of UC San Francisco School of Pharmacy, she works on call as a hospital pharmacist. During WWII, her grandfather served as a pharmacist’s mate (medic) in the Navy and her great-uncle flew with the US Eighth Air Force in England. Sarah lives in California with her husband and three children. Visit for more information.


Enter to win a copy of Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin by clicking on the work “Form” below.  This giveaway ends on Sept. 6 at 11:59 pm PDT.

1 thought on “Through Waters Deep”

Comments are closed.